Inspiration from Patti Smith

The best part of maintaining a blog so far is connecting with all kinds of new people I may never I have met in daily life. One person who I have begun corresponding with recently turned me back on to Patti Smith, and I had forgotten what an inspiring figure she is. From her career as a transformative artist, and her more recent activism, Patti Smith has touched millions of lives and been a (perhaps unwilling) role model for justice and social consciousness. Here are some of the best Patti Smith quotes:

Picture of Patti Smith by Sardine & Tobleroni

By Sadine & Tobleroni

The idea of redemption is always good news, even if it means sacrifice or some difficult times.

In the period where I had to live the life of a citizen – a life where, like everybody else, I did tons of laundry and cleaned toilet bowls, changed hundreds of diapers and nursed children – I learned a lot.

In art and dream may you proceed with abandon. In life may you proceed with balance and stealth.

Patti Smith at the Roundhouse, by Fabio Venni

by Fabio Venni

Good news doesn’t necessarily have to be a positive thing. Bringing good news is imparting hope to one’s fellow man.

The issue of gender was never my biggest concern; my biggest concern was doing good work. When the feminist movement really got going, I wasn’t an active part of it because I was more concerned with my own mental pursuits.

As an artist, I used to think that my responsibility was to do good work. But I had to learn from the ’70s on that being a public figure presents another aspect of responsibility.

All I’ve ever wanted, since I was a child, was to do something wonderful.

I had to learn, really, how to rein in my energies and discipline myself. And I found it very very useful. I rebelled against it at first, but it’s a good thing to have.

I had to learn, really, how to rein in my energies and discipline myself. And I found it very very useful. I rebelled against it at first, but it’s a good thing to have.

I’ve always thrived on the encouragement of others.

By Paul Pod

By Paul Pod

She’s awesome.

There’s a whole trove of more Patti Smith quotes available at Brainy Quotes.

Leave a Reply

